Mt. Rushmore logo


Fall River County school teachers in 1913

Fall River County, South Dakota


This listing was taken from the Hot Springs newspaper, -- Oct. 23,1913.

Hot Springs District No. 1

Falls School÷Mrs. J.H. Fall

Elm Creek÷Miss Mabel Young


Cascade District No. 2

Craven÷Miss Maude Wray

Fairview÷Miss Celia Strouse

Coffee Flat÷Mrs. O. S. Hewitt

Piney Creek÷Miss Helena Peterson

Plum Creek÷Miss Alma Anderson

Maitland÷Miss Ethelyn Winne


Red Canyon District No. 3

Minnekahta÷Miss Alice Leavens

Miller School÷Mr. C.F. Bills


Oelrichs District No. 4

Homestead÷Miss Margaret Rickenbach

District School÷Miss Hazel Trelebien

Pleasant Valley÷Miss Edythe Pitts


Lithia District No. 5

Lithia School÷Mr. Paul Cope


Smithwick District No. 6

Ellsworth School÷Miss Loretta Barrett

Hay Canyon÷Mrs. Edith Lord

Smithwick÷Miss Blanche Schreckenghaust


Union District No. 7

Gilpin School÷Miss Frances C. Hartman

Thomsen School÷Miss Alice Vieno

Moody School÷Mrs. Maude Rubert


Duck Creek District No. 8

Cowell School÷Miss Laura Dittmer

Hill School÷Mrs. Grace Altemus

Fox School÷Miss Minnie Roe

Alcorn÷Miss Hilda Mogen


Banner District No. 9

Oelrichs School÷Mrs. H.J. Steele, Miss Marie Wilkinson


Burton District No. 11

Driftwood÷Miss Alice Tubbs

Red Canyon÷Miss Laura Bennett

Craven Canyon÷Miss Mary Humphrens


Beaver District No. 12

Oral School÷Miss Lillian C. Wall


Indian Creek District No. 13

Wallace School÷Mr. Wm. Wilson


W.G. Flat District No. 14

W.G. Flat School÷Mr. B.P. Dolliver


Harmony District No. 16

Ferguson School÷Miss Esther Dryden

Pleasant Hill÷Miss Grace Flickenger

Meadowbrook÷Mrs. F. H. Hamilton

Harrison÷Miss Ethel Harrison

Barton School÷Mr. Z. F. Williams

Logune School÷Mr. Arley A. Evans

Sunnybrook School÷Mr. James Simpson

New School÷Miss May Haynes


Eckard District No. 17

Eckard School÷Mr. Ivan Barkley

Coleman District No. 18

Humball School÷Miss Florence Ulton


Dryden District No. 19

Houghton School÷Miss Ethel Montgomery

Muhm School÷Miss Marion Lockwood

New School÷Miss Maude Hewitt


Ardmore District No. 20

Ardmore School÷Miss Jennie Forrest, Miss Charlotte Heberling


Robins District No. 21

One School÷Miss Minnie Tubbs


Argentine District No. 22

Argentine School÷Miss Marie Williams

Spencer School÷Mrs. Lillian Cheney


Harmony District No. 23

Pettegrew School÷Miss Myrtle Miller


Plain District No. 24

Mrs. Ida H. Pierce


Provo District No. 25

Provo School÷Mrs. Lora V. Wilson

Softwater School÷Mrs. Mabel Ertemiller


Lincoln District No. 26

Fairview÷Mrs. Alice Nielson

Morning Star÷Miss Martha Wellner


The following is a list of teachers that have charge of the schools in Edgemont for the coming school term: (1913)

Superintendent÷T.F. DeWane

Principal÷George S. Pierce

Assistant÷Hortense Stoddard

Eighth grade÷Alice Bennett

Sixth and seventh grades÷Laura Coleman

Fifth grade÷Maude Layman

Fourth grade÷Gertrude Coleman

Third grade÷Agnes Stack

Second grade÷Nellie Fitzgerald

First grade÷Mae Harris


Submitted by Irene E. Ferguson, county superintendent (1913)


Our thanks to Lucille Birkholtz and Peggy Sanders for sharing a copy for this website.

RETURN to Fall River Main Page
or enjoy visiting one of these other Fall River pages

Directory  History  Inquiries  Links  LookUps  Send Query

  Fun  NEWS  History  Fall River Map

You are the [an error occurred while processing this directive]visitor since January 30, 1999.
usgenweb logo